Agricultural News


Feds Announce Regions Eligible for Livestock Tax Deferral

Livestock producers affected by drought, flood, or excess moisture conditions in 2017 may be eligible for 2017 tax relief.

On February 6, Agriculture Canada released the final list of regions designated under the Livestock Tax Deferral Provision, adding regions in British Columbia and Saskatchewan. The initial list, posted November 6, 2017, also listed regions in B.C., Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Quebec.

The provisions allow livestock producers to defer a portion of 2017 sale proceeds of breeding livestock until 2018.

Posted in: Agriculture


If you would like to receive the digital AgReview directly to your inbox, email with the word “Subscribe” in the subject line, and you’ll be added to the mailing list.

You can unsubscribe at any time by emailing with the word “Unsubscribe” in the subject line.

Past Issues